Always the Bachelorette

Okay, I admit it.

I looooove reality shows. Apparently the more ridiculous show, the better I like it. But I do draw the line at I Love New York. As much as I enjoy watching a train wreck, I really don’t need to see a close up of the leaking bodily fluids.

My two favorites are Top Chef and Project Runway, even though haute cuisine and haute couture are only interesting to me as crossword puzzle answers. These two shows rarely have much real drama – it’s the competition that’s so intriguing.

Tonight I watched The Bachelor, as I have fairly faithfully all season. Some friends and I just love to snark about the casts of this show. Even if they have a few brain cells the producers and editors rarely fail in making them look like complete and total idiots. Complete and total. They are just so very snarkworthy.

Tonight The Bachelor made his choice, but in case you have it TiVo’d I won’t spoil the surprise for you.

I was struck, though, by what a cast-off Bachelorette said as she was being driven away after being kicked to the curb. Mystified as to why he sent her packing after singing her many praises, she said, “I’m sick of being the one that makes that guy perfect for the next one.”

Amen, sister. I have been that many, many times in my life.

When you find the right one, though, you’ll be reaping the benefits of the modifications made by some other woman who prepped Right Guy for you.

Unless you’re Mary Kay Letourneau. And she’s just creepy.

Another hint, dear. You weren’t likely to meet him on a show where he’s got to date 24 other women. Huh.

See my other post discussing The Bachelor here.

5 Responses to “Always the Bachelorette”

  1. meonlybetter Says:

    I wish my husband had your high standards. He watches I Love New York. And other even dumber ones I’m too embarrassed to mention.

  2. Contessa Confessa Says:

    Yeah, well, who knew Brad (The Bachelor) could make Bret (Rock of Love) look like a super genius…

  3. The Bachelor Says “No Thank You.” « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] the final Two Bachelorettes, who are still Bachelorettes, came back to bitch out […]

  4. The Bachelor Says “No Thank You.” « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] the final Two Bachelorettes, who are still Bachelorettes, came back to bitch out […]

  5. Dirty_Sanchez Says:

    I wish women were more into shows that actually entertain like Stargate or Stargate Atlantis. Or how about shows that actually educate by exploring this world’s many fascinating mysteries such as bigfoot, lake monsters, conspiracies and UFO’s.

    There are plenty of shows that illustrate how things are made or how we benefit immensely by everyday things we take for granted. Of course no one want’s to be stuck by the train during rush hour. But trains are really cool – especially if you have a big model railroad to keep your imagination busy for hours. Just imagine being a train engineer and traversing this whole magnificent land of ours – Oh the things you might see.

    Maybe even a bigfoot or UFO around that next bend.


Leave a Reply

