How Hard is it to get a Damn House?

Apparently, very.

We have been wanting to move for four years.   From a townhouse to a house.  In another state.

When we’re finally ready to make the big move, the market here takes a big, old, smelly, stinky dump.

If a seller were to be found, I’d have to take $60k less than I could have a year ago.  A day late and 60,000 dollars  short.

Two years ago I wouldn’t have had to make any improvements at all. I could have put a sign on the window and it would have sold in a week.  Since the market started tanking we’ve made a ton of improvements, and we’re sitting here afraid to put it on the market.

Because nothing is selling.

Nothing.

Thank goodness we didn’t go buy a house, hoping this one would sell.

Thank goodness this home is affordable for us.

Thank goodness.

10 Responses to “How Hard is it to get a Damn House?”

  1. meonlybetter Says:

    Maybe the market will re-bound?!! Ya never know. Thank goodness that you still have a house though.

  2. cheechcat Says:

    Hang in there. The market will turn around.

  3. Alison Says:

    Hang in there.
    And remember, even though your townhouse has lost value, chances are so is the house you will buy. So it sort of evens out.

  4. scienceesl Says:

    Yep I know what you mean, and I am so hoping the market will rebound, quick like and in a hurry.

  5. The Taxman Cometh and the Husband Tries to Taketh Away « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] Since we so much want to be out of here , every mortgage payment, every tax payment, every insurance payment seems more like rent – money […]

  6. Twenty Things to Do Before We Buy a House « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] We Buy a House March 22, 2008 — BeThisWay I’ve spent lots of time thinking about selling our home here and moving to another state. The market is worse here than almost anywhere else in the country (we […]

  7. Linens-N-Things to Declare Bankruptcy, So Use That Gift Card Today! « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] I got it when I got my Dyson (the best vacuum cleaner ever!) in a frugal coup; in addition to it being on sale and using a 20% off coupon, I also got a $50 gift card as part of a promotion). I’ve been holding onto the gift card in hopes of using it in my new home, whenever I get one. Which I thought would have been by now, but that’s another story. […]

  8. 90% Well Done « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] 1 large charity box and twelve cleaned and re-organized cabinets later my kitchen is just about ready to be shown. That’s good, since I have appointments with two realtors this […]

  9. Well, we’re finally moving… « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] we’re finally moving… March 8, 2009 — BeThisWay I know I’ve written a time or two or thirty about our desire to move out of our too-small townhouse and buy a home in Georgia […]


Leave a Reply

