Why does a Jewish girl have so much Christmas paraphernalia?

I love Christmas decorations. I love Santa. I love Christmas trees. We’ve had one in our home every year since my parents divorced. To me it’s not a religious symbol – it’s more of a symbol of winter. It’s fun and magical and fills me with the same child-like excitement I’ve had, well, ever since I was a child.

I can’t not smile when I’m driving through a neighborhood and see the lit Christmas Tree through the living room window of this house, and the twinkling lights surrounding all of the bushes of that house a few doors down. The single candle burning in every one of the twelve front-facing windows of the Colonial down the street always makes me feel warm and cozy, and that the people inside are waiting to welcome someone else home.

There’s just something so wonderful about it all.

Still, I promised myself that this year I would not buy any Christmas paraphernalia. No fiber optic toy trains, no beautiful stained-glass ornaments, no berry wreaths. I’m not just talking about what’s for sale now – my promise includes after-Christmas sale gift wrap, cute 90% off tchochkes and other Christmas kitsch, and super-duper cheap Christmas cards.

Why? Well, I already have so much. Boxes and boxes of it. So much that every year my husband dreads going up into our attic to get it all down. He complains loudly enough that the last two years I’ve only asked him to bring down half – and we still had plenty.

Also, I just don’t want to spend the money. We have some big expenses right now, and every dollar I’d spend on Christmas decorations would be one dollar less to pay our bills and go into savings.

Sometimes it sucks being an adult.

I do have some advice, though, for others making the same promise as I. Stay away from Cracker Barrel. Their store is filled with wonderful Christmas dishes, ornaments, clothing and various other glittering and glistening and noisy kitsch that was oh, so very hard to resist.

But resist it I did. Yay me!

4 Responses to “Why does a Jewish girl have so much Christmas paraphernalia?”

  1. In The Hole Says:

    Great job resisting all of that temptation at Cracker Barrel! I love Christmas decorations too 🙂

  2. meonlybetter Says:

    I am not a fan of Kitsch myself, but I love how much you embrace it. Makes me want to display a dreidel.

  3. scienceesl Says:

    Good luck staying away from all the temptations. I know I am having a hard time with it right now, especially with the discounts that work is offering.

  4. Of Course We’re Going to Decorate! « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] though I’d go away for Christmas this  Jewish girl still wanted a tree.  I really prefer live trees, but they were not very practical since I would not be there to water […]


Leave a Reply

