I Walked Out of Target Richer Than I Walked In

Something happened yesterday that hardly ever happens.

I went to Target and didn’t buy anything. Not only that, I returned something. So I left the store $5.92 richer than I was when I walked in.

I didn’t even buy popcorn for my son.

This is highly unusual. Regular readers know that I love Target, and with the upcoming Birthday March Madness (8 family birthdays, including my father’s 70th and Husband’s grandmother’s 95th!), I expected to spend.

I didn’t find anything to buy. Oh, I found plenty I liked, and wanted. I always do. But there was nothing I needed.

I was almost out the door when I noticed that some of the dollar bin items were 50% off. I made a beeline and selected two items: some glitter glue (I am working on Valentines, after all) and a really cute set of rubber dishwashing gloves. Both items I could use.

But neither item I needed.

So, I put them back and Son and I walked out of the store.

Thank goodness they weren’t 75% off. I would have been a goner.

5 Responses to “I Walked Out of Target Richer Than I Walked In”

  1. goodfountain Says:

    Aww, you’re growing up. 😉

    I’m finding I’m spending a lot less at Target lately … by just not GOING.

  2. learning the ropes Says:

    Whoa, That was no mean feat. If I go there I end up spending…a lot. So like goodfountain, I too just avoid going there.

  3. 1stopmom Says:

    You did good. Those clearance signs always get me. It is almost like they are calling my name to come and take a quick look.

  4. dudewheresthestove Says:

    Some of my friends believe that there is a $100.00 admission fee that comes with every visit to Tarjay. I’m proud to say that the last time I visited, I spent ONLY and I mean ONLY what was on my shopping list…less than $5.00 – wheeee! You totally deserve three gold stars!!!

  5. Feeling the Link Love, and More Carnival Fun « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] also participated in the Carnival of Money Stories this week. My post I Walked Out of Target Richer Than I Walked In was included. I always learn something reading the blogs in that carnival. If I ever have a problem […]


Leave a Reply

