Making My Bed

Making my bed is something I don’t necessarily like to do. It’s actually a bit of a pain.It’s not as simple as just straightening the covers. It also involves replacing my ‘headboard’, which is three large, square purple velvet cushions I got on clearance at Pottery Barn. Then I need to arrange the rest of the six king pillows (yes, six) to lean against the ‘headboard’, and artfully place the four throw pillows. Finally, the purple velvet bedspread must be folded neatly and placed, just so, at the foot of the bed.

I make my bed every morning, unless I’m washing the sheets that day. I have to. I have to because if I leave my bedroom messy, then my day will be messy. Putting my bed in order in the morning helps me keep my life in order. Simplistic, but true.

My mother always used to tell me that she could tell how I was inside by how neat or messy my bedroom was. Given all of the internal struggles inherent in adolescence I’ll bet you can guess how rarely my room was clean. If you think about the teenagers you know I think you’ll find the correlation exists not just for me.

The same connection between the state of my emotions and my environment still exists today. But I’ve learned a few things since high school. I now know that having my environment neat helps keep me calm. Having mess outside just exacerbates the mess inside. When my home is neat I feel happier, calmer, more effective, more powerful and even sexier.

I still hate to clean. Hate it. And there are still times when I feel the weight of the world on my shoulders; when I do let my emotions get the better of me, and I let the mess start seeping down the stairs.

The first step in getting things back on track, to clean up the mess on the inside, is to clean up the mess on the outside.

I just wish the first step was bake some brownies. That can be step two, I suppose.

4 Responses to “Making My Bed”

  1. Emily Says:

    I always make my bed too. It makes a messy bedroom instantly look neater or a neat room instantly look messier.

    I am with you wholeheartedly on needing the environment to be spiffy to feel organized on the inside too.

    I really don’t know how people can stay sane in cluttered or messy homes.

  2. Good Fountain Says:

    There is a lot of truth to what you write. When things get too cluttered at home I become snappy. I confess I don’t make my bed every day. I rarely go back upstairs to my room during the day so I never see it. I put my energy into keeping the downstairs organized as that is where I spend 99% of my waking hours.

    Really great post!

  3. Funny about Money Says:

    Awww, I love this: it is SO right on! The state of our living environment at any given time really does seem to influence (reflect??) the way our whole day goes.

    Have you noticed that each person seems to focus on ONE thing that makes her or him feel like the house is, if not clean, at least OK? You make the bed. I want the floor clean — dusting can go by the wayside if the darn FLOOR is just vacuumed! A friend says the walls and fridge have to be free of fingerprints and dog-nesting grime for the house to actually be clean.

    In my experience, too, you often can tell when someone is depressed or when a couple is having marital problems by the state of their housekeeping. When a person is really feeling sad, she or he doesn’t feel like picking up, putting away, and cleaning. Or mowing the lawn, either.

    Well, I’m off to vacuum the floor! Great post.

  4. JHS Says:

    Thanks for contributing this post to this week’s Carnival of Family Life hosted at Beauty and Personal Grooming! Be sure to check out the other wonderful entries this week! And if you would like to host a future edition of the Carnival, you can check out the schedule here and then let me know the week you are interested in.

    Have a wonderful Sunday — and Easter (if you are celebrating)!


Leave a Reply

