Monday Morning Link Time

Another great round of carnivals this week. I’ve been extra-posty lately, and so more carnivals are being entered. Sue me.

First, I’m thrilled that my post Twenty Things to Do Before We Buy a House was chosen as an Editor’s Pick in the Carnival of Personal Finance: The Baby Education Edition hosted at Million Dollar Journey. I’d not been submitting to that carnival lately because I keep missing the deadline.

Posts of note in this carnival include:

  • A guest post written by a for-profit company on FMF’s blog Free Money Finance titled How to Keep Your Child’s Identity Safe had some great suggestions, and also increased my worry factor. Their suggestion that the last “four numbers of the child’s social security number can be easily used to obtain the full social security number, creating numerous opportunities for a child’s identity to be stolen,” gives weight to a concern I’ve long had about many companies’ practice of asking me for the last four digits of my own security number to “prove” my identity. Yikes.
  • Squawkfox‘s article Just say ‘NO’ to crap! is really good, serious article, but I confess that the title me laugh. All my Mommy friends know how much I love talking about poop, and crap is a close cousin.

The Festival of Frugality #118: ABC Edition, all 57 articles of it (!) was hosted over at My Dollar Plan this week. One of my favorite recent posts, I’ve Finally Found the Line, was included.

Some great posts:

The Carnival of Money Stories was hosted at Dividend Growth Investor this week. My post about my phone service, Turning Phone Service Lemons Into Satisfying Lemonade, was included.

Check out these posts I really enjoyed, and all of the others, too:

  • I was a bank teller when I was in high school, so I thought Finance Gets Personal’s post Confessions of a Former Bank Teller was hysterical. Just so you know, though, my kid’s fish faces are really, really cute.
  • Family and Finance’s article We Got Rid of Our Escrow Account! proves that you never know unless you ask. I don’t escrow for taxes and insurance because I put 20% down, and I knew I could insist on it. I think I need to write a post about homeowners insurance and how mortgage companies can really screw you up! Stay tuned…

MixedMetaphor.net hosted the All for Women Blogging Carnival, one I’d never entered before. They accepted my post Perfect Day at the Beach.

Also check out:

  • Mommy Cliques: A Ninja Survival Guide at ParentingSquad. As much as I hate to admit it, there’s something about a group of women that can immediately make me feel twelve again. The difference at age 43 is that I’m much more willing to take the initiative, I can laugh about it, I care a whole lot less, I don’t mind looking silly (and often do!) and it certainly matters much less to my general state of well-being.

Next up is the Money Hacker’s Carnival #5 – Haute Couture Edition hosted by Antishay Ventenne. My article Time To Increase the Grocery Budget. Or Eat A Lot Less. was included.

Other articles that I liked:

Finally, I’d like to thank Funny About Money for including my article Saving by Delusion in her Saturday Round-up, and PaidTwice for mentioning Shrinking Package Sizes Screw up My Recipes in her Sunday Morning Link Love. I’m so glad you thought them worth mentioning!

Thanks to all of the carnival hosts and participants, and a special thanks to you, who take time out of your busy days to read my ramblings.

      4 Responses to “Monday Morning Link Time”

      1. financegirl Says:

        Hey, thanks for mentioning my post. Aren’t you glad you’re not a bank teller anymore?

      2. Shanti Says:

        Thanks for linking to the carnival 🙂

      3. GBlogger (Can I Get Rich On A Salary) Says:

        Thanks for mentioning my post — and I’m glad you enjoyed it! I just stopped to read yours on “free” as well — and if you don’t mind, I am going to link to it from mine!

      4. squawkfox Says:

        My sister just had a baby and all she talks about is poop. So I know what you mean about “Crap” being a funny title. I’m thrilled you enjoyed the post despite the diaper duty. 🙂


      Leave a Reply

