Fine Literature at a Great Price

This morning Son and I were going to go to the gym for open gym time, but it was canceled so we went to the library instead.

This isn’t our regular library, but we’ve visited before.

Every visit to this larger library must include at least two visits to the bathroom and two elevator rides. There’s a cafe, and the children’s area is about ten times the size of our regular branch.

They also have a perpetual sale of donated and replaced books. Children’s books are twenty-five cents (!!!), so I picked up a few. One in particular was a no-brainer. I’d read the book right after it came out and just knew that I’d buy it when I had kids. I’d just not gotten around to it yet.

Every day before nap Son & I read a few books together. We’d been to the bookstore last night and he’s been inseparable from his new train book ever since. I grabbed one of the new-to-us library books, too, and we sat down to read. After reading the train book (for the seventeenth time today) I gently declined his request to read it again and told him I thought he’d really love the new book.

I opened the book and after the first sentence he started laughing.

I don’t mean giggling, or a cute, short chuckle. I mean laughing. Deep, belly-clutching, roll-on-the-bed, grab my arm and hug me, lose-his-breath, can’t-stop type laughing.

I was laughing, too.

I’d finally introduced him to one of the finest books ever written: Everyone Poops.

I’m glad to see that like me, he appreciates good prose.

I’m so proud.

7 Responses to “Fine Literature at a Great Price”

  1. NH Mom of 3 Says:

    Sounds like a fun trip to the library. I found a book at the used book store that my kids found totally entertaining — Walter the Farting Dog: Trouble at the Yard Sale. There are apparently more in the series we need to find, as this was such a big hit! Great illustrations, and with 3 kids 8 and under (including 2 boys) to be able to imagine not only a dog farting (aka “tooting” in my family) but to have stories where the farting dog is the central figure — brilliant. I would think this would be a great book to encourage reluctant summer readers. And what a great compliment to your find — Everybody Poops. This may not be the right book for every family, but it sure was well-received here.

  2. BeThisWay Says:

    @NH Mom of 3 – Oh, yes. Walter the Farting Dog will be making an appearance here, too. There is great interest in bodily functions genetically passed down from my side of the family. My sister once mailed me a photo of poop. It’s because it was standing straight up in the toilet bowl. My brother-in-law saluted it – after all it was standing at attention. And it was given a name – the Tallahassee Torpedo.

    Yeah, my kid never stood a chance.

  3. Funny about Money Says:

    LOL! This is wonderful.

    Aren’t kids easy to entertain? Almost as easy as parents! 🙂

  4. Good Fountain Says:

    Don’t forget the companion book to Everybody Poops – The Gas We Pass.

    Another classic…

  5. Monday Night Link Love - New England Edition « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] Carnival of Money Stories was hosted at Money Ning this week and my post Fine Literature at the Great Price was […]

  6. Carnival of Family Life: Father’s Day Edition | On the Horizon Says:

    […] shares Fine Literature at a Great Price published at Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know […]


Leave a Reply

