You Know What I Did This Summer – Save Money!

The Life Network is running a Summer Savings Series with articles on how to save this summer. Here’s my entry!

Summer provides its own unique opportunities to save money. This summer is no exception, so I’m hot on the trail of ways to keep cool, and save money.

  1. Taking Son out of Preschool. I’ve been paying $50 per week for a year and a half to send Son to school two mornings per week. Since we’ll spend about a month on vacation this summer we decided to pull Son out of school. We’d already decided to switch him to a new school this August anyway (and under our state’s free Voluntary Pre-Kindergarten program it will be free!), and since we would have had to pay for the four weeks he wasn’t there we thought we’d give him a true summer off.
  2. Planning our vacations to stay with family. Both of the vacations we planned this summer are to visit family. This is a win for us in many ways because we love to visit and spend time with our families, we love the areas where they live (New England and the mountains of North Carolina), and we save by not having to pay for our accommodations. That said, we try to be good guests by paying for meals for everyone, pitching in with chores and projects, and cleaning up after ourselves.
  3. Taking outgrown clothing to consignment. Now that I’m sure we won’t be having any more children (sniff) I finally found a couple of local consignment stores specializing in children’s clothing. I’ve already consigned a large amount of Son’s clothing, and plan to do more. The money we raise will go into our long-term savings, and we get the added bonus of less clutter!
  4. Driving less. Except for our one driving vacation, I’m doing a lot less driving this summer. I’m taking advantage of our community pool, and trying to cut down on my errands. I’m also following my own advice on how to save money on gas.
  5. More cold or barbecued dinners. Salads, sandwiches, corn on the grill. That’s what summer cuisine is all about. If it weren’t for the occasional trips to the ice cream store we’d save even more (Yes, I know we could buy or make it at home, but there’s just something about going to an ice cream parlor and sharing a summer evening in coned camaraderie with fellow connoisseurs…)!

What are you doing to save money this summer?

10 Responses to “You Know What I Did This Summer – Save Money!”

  1. Pete Says:

    Thanks for your entry!

  2. Pete Says:

    p.s. contact us through our website if you want to be entered because we don’t have your email address. Without it you can’t win! thanks again.

  3. Money Life Network Summer Saving Series Articles | Free From Broke Says:

    […] You Know What I Did This Summer – Save Money! @ Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I … […]

  4. Money Life Network Summer Savings Series Contest has a winner!! And the winner is… | Bible Money Matters Says:

    […] You Know What I Did This Summer – Save Money! @ Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I … […]

  5. 28 Ways to Save This Summer | Prime Time Money Says:

    […] You Know What I Did This Summer – Save Money! […]

  6. A Month of Quintessential Savings Tips! | My Investing Blog Says:

    […] You Know What I Did This Summer – Save Money! […]

  7. We’re Hemmorhaging Money and We Just Can’t Stop! « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] to go directly to savings, but that’s life. I’m also saving $200 per month now that Son isn’t in school, so that will make up for some of the coming extra […]

  8. Moments of Fame « Funny about Money Says:

    […] discovery of a hack that lets nonmembers buy Costco gas. Be This Way posts five excellent ways to save money during the summer. And at the Digerati Life, SVB discusses ways entrepreneurs can help you with your small […]

  9. Festival of Frugality #132 – "Frugal is, as Frugal does" edition. | Budgets Are Sexy Says:

    […] You Know What I Did This Summer – Save Money! posted by Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? […]


Leave a Reply

