All I Had to Do Was Ask!

Two months ago I switched my landline phone over to Comcast, where we already had our Internet and cable service. I just can’t let go of my landline, at least not yet. I got a great deal on the phone service ($19.99 a month for the entire year!) and was happy at the time.

Since then I’d seen Comcast ads offering $99 per month for all three services. We’re paying almost $150. Being the inherent procrastinator that I am I kept putting off the call. I’ve just not been in the mood to argue.

Well, today I called. I asked and they reduced the cable portion of my bill from $71 to $39, and added 5 HBO channels, FREE. That promotion is good for seven months, but the rep advised me to call back in 6 months to see what new promotion they’re running and switch it over. She also reduced my Internet charge by about $12 per month for a year.

My cable/internet/phone bill is going from $149 per month to $98 per month, and I all had to do was ask.

Seriously. No arguing. No trying to upsell. No nothing.

Now I’m kicking myself. I should have asked long ago…

Now who am I going to call next?

4 Responses to “All I Had to Do Was Ask!”

  1. Festival of Frugality 134 | On Financial Success Says:

    […] Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You?’s All I Had to Do Was Ask! […]

  2. » On Financial Success Hosts Festival #134! on the Festival of Frugality Says:

    […] Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You?’s All I Had to Do Was Ask! […]

  3. Lackadaisical Housekeeping Seems More Accurate « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] article she was writing for a “national publication”. She’d seen my article about how I got Comcast to lower my bill with just a phone call, and she wanted to find out what I did and how I did […]

  4. Why I turned down Comcast cable, phone AND internet for $50 a month, but how you can get this deal! « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] We have been subscribers to Comcast for cable since we moved in, internet shortly thereafter.  We added phone service this past year.  At that  time we got what I thought was a great deal – $99 a month for six […]


Leave a Reply

