Easy To Use Tips To Get Better Gas Mileage

Fellow Blogger Kyle from Rather-Be-Shopping.com Blog has asked to do a monthly guest post here, and since I’ve used his site several times to save myself some money I thought we’d give it a try. Let me know what you think!
~
Easy To Use Tips To Get Better Gas Mileage
I was reading through the archives when I found a terrific post Be This Way did back in March, titled, Change Some Habits, Save Some Gas. And Some Money. It really made me think of how the price of gas has changed the way I think about driving. I no longer take the scenic route and instead opt for the one that will use the least amount of gas. It is actually kind of sad to me. I have fond memories of my Grandmother telling stories of when she was a young mother and how they would take a scenic drive through the countryside on a lazy Sunday afternoon after church. Those days are gone, and if you drive a big ol’ truck like me, you have a 2 ton paper weight sitting in the garage.
But it is not all gloom and doom from this eternal optimist. I have come up with a handy little checklist that will insure you are getting the best bang for your buck at the pump in terms of better gas mileage. Drumroll, please…
~ Properly Inflate The Tires. This isn’t just about under-inflated tires, if you put to much air in them you will lower your gas mileage as well. Follow the prescribed PSI that is on the side of your tire.
~ Don’t Be Cheap on Car Maintenance – Use quality motor oil, change oil filter regularly, keep air filters clean. Heck, just by keeping your air filter clean and replaced when need be, you can boost your MPG’s by up to 10%. Follow your car’s recommended maintenance schedule! By doing so, not only will you keep your car running efficiently, but it will also add to your engine’s life and your sanity.
~ Listen Up Lead Foot! – Slow down there Speedy Gonzales and avoid those fast accelerations and drive the speed limit. Both of which will help significantly when trying to get the most miles per gallon of gas. Also, coast up to stop signs and stop lights. It always baffles me when people have the pedal to the metal until the loss possible second and then pound the brakes. What a total waste of gas!
~ Use The Cruise ControlBe This Way mentioned this one in her post as well. This is a tried and true way of getting better mileage on the freeway and interstate.
~ Alternative Transportation – This one is by far the most effective. After all, you can’t use petrol when you are not using your car. So stop by your local bus station and pick up a schedule, or ask that colleague who lives close to you if you want to carpool, or ride your bike or walk to the store a couple times a week. The key is to take the initiative and find other ways to get where you need to be.
Please add to my list. Other than only driving to places that are downhill from you, what are you doing to get better gas mileage. Looking forward to your comments!
~
About The Author: First of all, I want to thank Be This Way for giving me the opportunity to try a monthly feature on her blog. Very exciting! A little about me, my name is Kyle James, I am married, and my wife and I have 3 young children. I own and operate a website called Rather-Be-Shopping.com which specializes in online coupons for over 500 stores. I also have a blog, where I write about creative ways to save money, and other musings about the adventures and mis-adventures of raising 3 active kids.
One Response to “Easy To Use Tips To Get Better Gas Mileage”

  1. copyeditorsdesk Says:

    Watch WAY down the road to see what stoplights are doing. To the extent that it’s safe (don’t jam up traffic trying this stunt), when you see a light is red take your foot off the gas and coast. As your car slows, you may still be moving when the light turns, saving the gas required to re-accelerate and also saving you the gas that wasn’t used while you were coasting.

    Observe the grade of apparently “level” streets. Some of them actually are going slightly downhill. The inertia of your vehicle may cause it to maintain speed if you coast in stretches that incline slightly downward. Again, be careful not to make your fellow drivers nuts while experimenting with this.

    You can use cruise control on surface streets, too, at least in some makes. I’ve engaged the cruise control in my Toyota at 40 mph. Where lights are timed, this works nicely and supposedly saves gas.

    But don’t use cruise control on roads that have inclines, such as freeways that go beneath street-level overpasses. Of course, the c.c. wants to maintain speed on the uphill climb, madly consuming gas in the process.

    I’ve managed to squeeze 25 mpg out of my Sienna, which is rated at 19 mpg. Not great, but better than nothin’.


Leave a Reply

