Why Can’t Oreos Taste like Brussel Sprouts?

Kate at One More Thing wrote a post asking about our own particular (and perhaps peculiar) comfort foods, then wrote another asking us about other foods that we have peccadilloes about.

I answered her first query in her comments section, as it basically boils down to McDonald’s, bread and potatoes (Honestly, I can imagine how anyone sees vegetables as comfort food, but to each his weird own).

Foods that I have peccadilloes about needed a post all their own for me to answer. Because I have them, in spades, as anyone who knows me will tell you…

There’s these:

I hate onions, but I like onion flavored things (onion bagels, onion dip). I will even cook with onions to extract the flavor but I will not eat the onions themselves.

Conversely, I like strawberries (though I didn’t until I was in my mid-thirties) but I cannot stand strawberry flavored things. And I don’t like any other berries, except cherries. But I looooooooove cherries.

I love nuts, but I don’t like them in anything or on top of anything. I will eat roasted peanuts, cashews, walnuts, and almonds. But please give me my brownies sans nuts, and don’t even think of sprinkling any on my ice cream.

Apples? Love them! Just don’t cook them. Especially in apple pie. When I was a kid my Dad told me I was un-American because I disliked it so much. But I do like baseball and Chevrolet, so I think I’m okay. And my Dad? He likes rhubarb pie, for goodness sake! What does he know?

Some things change as I age. Mushrooms? Could not stomach those slimy suckers until I was at Herb Alpert’s wonderful Vibrato Grill in LA last year and my sister-in-law ordered carmelized mushrooms to garnish her steak. Oh my. Ohhhhhhhhhhhh. Myyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. Now I can’t get enough of them.

Veal and lamb? Used to love me some veal parmigiana and lamb chops when I was a kid, but now I can’t stomach either.

I’d eat more vegetables if I liked them better. Did anyone ever notice that the unhealthiest foods taste the best? They do to me.

Why can’t Oreos taste like Brussel Sprouts, and vice versa?

I’d be so skinny if they did!

Posted in just rambling. Tags: , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Why Can’t Oreos Taste like Brussel Sprouts?”

  1. Good Fountain Says:

    You’re weeeeeeird.

    I love strawberry flavored things, but do not like strawberries at all.

  2. Genius « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] done with these two, please get cracking on some of my other ideas, like making all healthy food taste like Oreos. Posted in Funny, Health and Wellness, Sarcasm and other assets. Tags: aicar, exercise pill, […]


Leave a Reply

