90% Well Done

This morning I went to use the microwave and noticed it was dirty. I cleaned it, then noticed that the electric can opener was, too (does anyone have one of these that works well? I never have!). I cleaned that and pretty soon there was no stopping the ball from gaining momentum on the way to completely tearing apart my kitchen. Three garbage bags, 1 large charity box and twelve cleaned and re-organized cabinets later my kitchen is just about ready to be shown. That’s good, since I have appointments with two realtors this week.

It’s hard for me to plan ahead for these things. When I think about a huge job like that I get so overwhelmed I don’t even want to begin. And lately I’ve been doing so much at my Dad’s old house that the thought of packing or cleaning out anything is about as welcome as a hemorrhoid. As a result the upkeep of my house, and the market-readiness work have fallen to the wayside. That’s not right, but it’s the way that it is. Or has been.

But when something just evolves the way it did today I feel empowered and completely forget to be overwhelmed.

I like that feeling.

The only downside is that I still have not found a cure for the 90% Doneness Syndrome. I get 90% of a job done and am left with a pile of things that I don’t know what to do with, or am too tired to deal with after busting my tush all day. Today’s 10% is currently sitting on my dining room table.

Sigh.

Tomorrow. I’ll deal with it tomorrow.

2 Responses to “90% Well Done”

  1. Funny about Money Says:

    Seems like you never get done, doesn’t it? A friend and I observed that as women age, they become more sensitive to the number of steps in a process: the process it takes to do a job around the house, for example.

    Gather the clothes into the hamper (there are always some left laying around somewhere)
    Carry the dirty dishes noticed during this process out to the kitchen.
    Try to put them in the dishwasher.
    Unload the dishwasher; put clean dishes away.
    Put retrieved dirty dishes in the washer.
    Notice other dishes waiting to be washed.
    Put remaining dirty dishes into dishwasher.
    Return to closet; get clothes hamper.
    Haul clothes to laundry area.
    Separate clothes.
    Pretreat stains.
    Put first load in washer.
    Apply detergent & O2 bleach as needed.
    Turn on washer.
    Haul clean clothes back to closet.
    Put away clothes that don’t need to be ironed.
    Place ironing where it will be noticed…SOON.
    Hear washer start to bang.
    Race out to laundry area, adjust load
    Get shop vac out
    Vacuum up dust and dog hair in laundry area
    Put shop vac away
    Notice tools that got left out
    Put tools away
    Remember knives need to be sharpened

    ….and on and on and on, world without end, amen. Auuughhh!

  2. Roundup: Cactus flower edition « Funny about Money Says:

    […] contest. Be This Way has her hands full this summer, between moving her dad out of his house and putting her own house on the market. Meanwhile, also on the home front Be This Way’s little one has already begun to test the law […]


Leave a Reply

