Making my Contacts Last Means No Vision Coverage Needed Next Year

Next month I’m going to get a packet from Husband’s employer and we’re going to have to select our benefits for next year.

It’s difficult for me to throroughly review every benefit in the short enrollment window we’re given, even though I’ve got a bit of experience with insurance and insurance matters. I can’t imagine how difficult it is for people who aren’t lucky enough to have worked slinging policies for more than ten years.

One of the things I’m sure of is that our health insurance premiums will increase. I’m just not sure how much. Alison at This Wasn’t In the Plan already received her increase, and I empathize with her frustration about paying more for mediocre coverage. I only hope and pray our plan hasn’t changed again, as there’s not much we can give up in terms of coverage at this point – what with a diabetic and an asthmatic in the family.

I have already figured out, though, that I’m going to save some money by cutting vision coverage next year. I’m the only one who wears corrective lenses, and I got new glasses last year. I haven’t used my allotment of contacts this year yet, as I make my six month supply last at least a year (Shhh! Don’t tell my Opthamologist!).

I will make an appointment for myself in November and get next year’s allotment. So I won’t need vision coverage next year. That frees up about $7 a month to use towards my Health increase. Not a lot, but as every snowflaker knows, every little bit helps.

3 Responses to “Making my Contacts Last Means No Vision Coverage Needed Next Year”

  1. Until Debt Do US Part Says:

    I would be interested to know how you manage to make your lenses last twice as long. Are they daily disposables? Do you drop them into saline solution at the end of the day? I wear contact lenses and buy in bulk online.

  2. BeThisWay Says:

    Until Debt Do US Part, they are dailies. I take them out every day and soak them in saline overnight. I believe I’m supposed to use them for 2 weeks, but that stretches into four, six and eight weeks. Sometimes more. When they start to bother me I switch…

    As I said my eye doctor would be less than pleased…

  3. Money Hacks Carnival #31 — Crisis And Bailout : Moolanomy Says:

    […] Making my Contacts Last Means No Vision Coverage Needed Next Year at Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You?. […]


Leave a Reply

