Just How Inappropriate Can a Halloween Costume Be?

Son's 1st Halloween

Son

I adore autumn – it’s my favorite season by far. I love the crispness of the air (well, not here), the smell of leaves burning, the sounds of football on the television.

Autumn also brings Halloween, one of my favorite holidays. I love to see the kids dressed up, to watch their faces as they bob for apples, to see them flit about crazily as they work out their sugar highs.

Son's 2nd Halloween

Son

When I was a child I adored the whole process. When my Mom (and the rolling eyeballs of our neighbors) told me I was too old to trick-or-treat, I conspired to continue by offering to take the neighbor’s children instead. Remember, these were the days before razors in apples, when kids over 7 went trick-or-treating by themselves without their parents worrying about anything other then their child’s protests about wearing a sweater over their costume on cooler Halloween evenings.

Son 3rd Halloween

Son 3rd Halloween

Even back then when I dreamed of being a mother one of the things I most looked forward to was making or selecting my child’s costume, hosting Halloween parties and going along as they trick-or-treated. It’s something I’ve really enjoyed, and Son has been young enough that he really didn’t have a costume preference, so I’ve gotten to have some fun with it.

Until now.

Son has a preference this year. What does he want to be?

Come on. You regular readers know, don’t you? Yeah.

A urinal. My kid wants to be a urinal for Halloween.

Sigh.

I’m pushing my ice cream cone idea. After all ,he likes ice cream almost as much as he likes urinals.

So, parents. What do you think? Would you let your child be a urinal for Halloween?

12 Responses to “Just How Inappropriate Can a Halloween Costume Be?”

  1. copyeditorsdesk Says:

    Absolutely.

    The best party my ex- and I threw in 20 years of married life was a Hallowe’en costume party. One of his law partners showed up as a toilet. It was memorably hilarious.

    The whole party was memorably hilarious, come to think of it.

  2. Shan Says:

    I think a urinal would be memorable. It’s a good blackmail photo for when he’s a teen. You can threaten to bring it out and show his girlfriend or something. I would go with the urinal. Plus, it’s pretty darn funny! 🙂

  3. Good Fountain Says:

    Absolutely!! The boy is expressing himself and you must let him. Oh the laughs you all will have over this later!

  4. Sweet Pea Says:

    Oh my, I just don’t know. What ever gave him that idea, I think you should do it and take tons of pictures.

  5. gfish Says:

    It’s certainly a very original idea. If he’s sure he wants to do it, I would let him. If anything, it would be hilarious and many parents would find it amusing rather than inappropriate.

    Just watch out for a gross touch-up on the costume…

  6. Kate Says:

    No. I, as costume-maker, hold final veto say over the kids’ costumes until they reach an age where they want to make their own costumes. I wouldn’t enjoy making a urinal, and thus I would decline. I’d let them be a plumber, a roll of toilet paper, or perhaps a tuxedoed high-end-restaurant bathroom attendant, though.

  7. Deal of the Day September 21, 2008 « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] is just around the corner, and you already know that costumes are on my mind.  For those who don’t want to make a costume, check out this deal from […]

  8. MaxTrax Says:

    Go for it, just make sure you take A LOT of pictures. Won’t he be surprised at his graduation party 😉

  9. To Answer the Question of the Urinal… « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] October 31, 2008 — BeThisWay A few weeks ago I pondered whether or not to allow Son to dress as a urinal for Halloween. Many have asked what we […]

  10. Present Non Grata « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] Non Grata November 18, 2008 — BeThisWay Anyone who gets THIS for my Son for the […]

  11. Remind Me To Never Go to Taipei… « Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know You? Says:

    […] has been fascinated by toilets, and they day he discovered a urinal our whole lives changed.  He wanted to be a urinal for Halloween, and whenever you ask him what he wants for his birthday his answer is invariably […]


Leave a Reply

