Take Advantage of Prescription Transfer Perks

Last month I got some junk mail from Walgreen’s, and I almost tossed it without opening it.  I’m glad I didn’t.

Inside was a check for $25 that could be mine if I transferred a prescription to their pharmacy.

I’ve seen offers like that before and not taken advantage.  Husband is on two medications that we get through mail order and one that we fill for $4 at Target.  Son is on a few medications, and I usually get samples when  I go to the doctor’s office.  I  could have taken advantage of the offer in a fewcases, but in all honesty I was too lazy to take  advantage of them. Like others in the past, I put it to the side, then promptly forgot  about it.

Then Husband got  a pay cut, and Son got sick.  We needed to get a refill on the Xopenex, used to treat his asthma.  I remembered that check, pulled it out and read the details.

The check was made payable to the Walgreen’s, and had to be used at the time of prescription transfer.  Not that difficult, really.  So, I called and got the prescription transferred.

I picked up the prescription, and all this stuff was free.

Free stuff!

Not too shabby.  A new thermometer that we needed (overpriced, but since it was free…) , Pop Tarts for our upcoming car trip, cough drops (thanks for the cold, Son!) and some staples.  I used coupons to stretch the money even further.

Definitely worth the effort!  Want to try it yourself?  Get a $25 Walgreens Gift Card with any transferred prescription, good through April 29, 2009.  This is even better than the deal I had because you don’t have to use it all at once…

One Response to “Take Advantage of Prescription Transfer Perks”

  1. funnyaboutmoney1 Says:

    Good move!

    You will be able to go back to Target for the $4 price when he needs a refill? I pay $20 for every Rx at Walgreen’s, and about 70% of things my quack prescribes are not covered by my insurer, so if I want it I have to pay the full freight.


Leave a Reply

