You expect me to post while I’m arranging a move???? Blasphemy!

I know, I know.  Not enough posting.  At least I hope you  think so!  I realized there’s lots of stuff I haven’t filled you in on, so here we go!

We’ve found renters! A nice couple has signed a lease and given a deposit.  They know we are first-time landlords and have told us that in future years we’ll remember them as the best tenants we’ve ever had.  From their mouths to G-d’s ears!

We have a moving date! In sixteen short days we will be moved to the new house, and the new tenants move in here a week later.  That means we’re packing, and Husband is rushing to get as much painted at the new house as possible.  I’m foregoing a Mother’s Day celebration to give him guilt-free time to paint.

I made a frugal decision. We need a kitchen table and chairs, and with brown tile floors I decided  that a wood table with antique white legs would work best.  I found one I really liked at a local chain store that would have set us back $1000.   Instead I found a similar table with 6 chairs on Craigslist for $200, and it included a hutch.  We picked it up tonight.    I’m not fond of the hutch, so I’ve listed it on Craigslist for $75.  If it sells for that I’ll have gotten the table and chairs for only $125.

I love Oops paint! If  you’re not already aware, Home Depot  and other retailers sell gallons of paint that others have selected and abandoned at a great discount – gallons go for only $5 – about 80% off the retail price! I found two cans of a very similar green in the Oops section , mixed them together and used  them to paint one of the guest rooms at the house.  It’s gorgeous!  I have enough left to do a hallway or perhaps a bathroom.  I love Oops paint!

Friends and family are very good to have. Our best friends have a printing business, and a 14 foot box truck.  They have offered it to us for the move, saving us $100 – $150.   Even though we want to have everything but the furniture already at the house by moving day, will we’ll likely still need to do two trips (only because of Husband’s train layout, which is very large, and very delicate. AND these wonderful friends (along with several other terrific friends and relatives) are  going to help us move.    That means the entire  move will cost us gas plus food and drinks for our crew.

So much to do.  So little time!!!!

2 Responses to “You expect me to post while I’m arranging a move???? Blasphemy!”

  1. Tari Says:

    Congrats! Happy moving and may all your renters be good to you.

  2. Vanessa Says:

    This all sounds great! Happy moving!


Leave a Reply

