What you Can Expect From The New A La Carte Airlines

I wrote a few days ago about how To Explore the New World of Airline Travel You Need More Than a Map. Today I received an e-mail that shows I certainly am NOT the only one completely ever being nickel and dimed by the airlines:
NEW AIRLINE RULES

Attendant: Welcome aboard Ala Carte Air, sir. May I see your ticket?

Passenger: Sure.

Attendant: You’re in seat 12B. That will be $5, please!

Passenger: What for?

Attendant: For telling you where to sit.

Passenger: But I already knew where to sit.

Attendant: Nevertheless, we are now charging a seat locator fee of $5. It’s the airline’s new policy.

Passenger: That’s the craziest thing I ever heard. I won’t pay it.

Attendant: Sir, do you want a seat on this flight, or not?

Passenger: Yes, yes. All right, I’ll pay. But the airline is going to hear about this.

Attendant: Thank you. My goodness, your carry-on bag looks heavy. Would you like me to stow it in the overhead compartment for you?

Passenger: That would be swell, thanks.

Attendant: No problem. Up we go, and done! That will be $10, please.

Passenger: What?

Attendant: The airline now charges a $10 carry-on assistance fee.

Passenger: This is extortion. I won’t stand for it.

Attendant: Actually, you’re right, you can’t stand. You need to sit, and fasten your seat belt. We’re about to push back from the gate. But, first I need that $10.

Passenger: No way!

Attendant: Sir, if you don’t comply, I will be forced to call the air marshal. And you really don’t want me to do that.

Funny, to be sure. And I don’t really think we’re that farr off from that. Delta just announced they will be charging up to $50 per ticket as a fuel surcharge on frequent flyer award tickets.

Priceless…

One Response to “What you Can Expect From The New A La Carte Airlines”

  1. Carnival of Money Stories « Funny about Money Says:

    […] Be This Way Are You Going to Be This Way the Rest of the Time I Know You? What You Can Expect from the New à la Carte Airlines […]


Leave a Reply

