Perfect Day at the Beach

I am not one to sit for hours in the hot sun on a crowded beach. I grew up in New Jersey and spent lots of time at the beach, but once childhood passed I’d be bored stiff whenever I joined my friends for a day of tanning (or burning, as fate and my fair skin dictated). I’ve lived in Florida for twenty-five years and I doubt I’ve been to the beach on a typical beach day ten times.

But invite me to the beach at night, or on a windy, overcast or cold day and I’m there in a heartbeat. I love it. I love the solitude, the roaring surf, the endless sky. I love how connected to the earth, and to G-d I feel. I love that it seems like I’m sharing a special secret with whomever I’m with, even if I’m alone.

Today was a perfect beach day, at least to me. I knew the weather would keep the crowds away. Son and I arrived and found a parking place easily. The sky was mostly overcast, and the winds were blowing pretty strongly. The surfers were in their glory, enjoying the windy day’s rougher seas.

Son and I walked, and played in the sand, and climbed on the rocks. We saw birds and jellyfish and lifeguards. We ate sand (three-year-olds like to throw it, don’t you know) and held hands and buried each other’s feet.

What could be more perfect that that?

5 Responses to “Perfect Day at the Beach”

  1. Debby Banning Says:

    Sounds like a perfect day to me! Where are you in Florida to have rocks on the beach? I am about 30 minutes from Daytona Beach. There are no rocks in site on that beach.

  2. BeThisWay Says:

    Hi Debby,

    I’m in South Florida. We have rocks, piers, garbage and the occasional raft decorating our beaches.

  3. Good Fountain Says:

    That sounds like my kind of day at the beach .. although I’d prefer not to eat any sand!

    You are really making me long for spring and warmth!

  4. All for Women Blogging Carnival | Mixed Metaphor.net Says:

    […] BeThisWay: Perfect Day at the Beach at Are You Going To Be This Way The Rest of The Time I Know […]


Leave a Reply

