The Only Thing Better Than a Really Great Bargain is Money Well Spent

Today Son and I went to Costco.   They are about seven minutes from our home, so I shop there pretty much every week.  Their milk prices alone make it worth the trip – I usually save about $1 a gallon over Publix.  Their meats are FANtastic, and I save a bundle on bread, eggs and many other staples.

They also have lots of neat stuff.  I try to steer clear, avoiding the impulse buy.  But today I couldn’t help noticing some really cute black iron bistro chairs, priced at $22.99 apiece:

chairs2

Gee, those look really familiar… I really liked them a lot.  Cute and comfy, with a wide seat to accommodate wide tushies.  That’s good, since they are  the EXACT SAME ONES I bought this weekend, and I only paid $5 apiece!

I LOVE a bargain!

Since I saved so much money on the chairs I decided to give myself some long overdue help.  I do all of my finances by hand, and it’s just ridiculous to do so.  Every year I procrastinate doing my taxes because it’s such a bear of a job.  I tried Microsoft Money and hated it.  I’ve wanted Quicken for a long time, but could never justify the expense.  I heard that Quicken was offering a free online version, and I checked it out.  Good, but I’m not comfortable with all of my financial info being kept on some server somewhere.

Well, Costco came out with a new coupon book today, and there was a $20 off coupon for Quicken.  That made it half price, so I bought it.

I am soooo happy I did.  In a little over an hour I’ve entered all of my credit card receipts for the year so far, properly categorized to make my taxes next year so much easier.  I still have a few accounts to enter,  but I’m feeling really, really good.

I’m not going to justify spending the rest of the money saved on those great bargain chairs, but that $20 was well worth it in time saved, accuracy and angst.

The only thing better than a really great bargain is money well spent.  Money well spent that’s also a bargain?  Nirvana!

6 Responses to “The Only Thing Better Than a Really Great Bargain is Money Well Spent”

  1. Good Fountain Says:

    You entered a year’s worth of credit card receipts in little over an hour?!?!?!?!

    That’s FAST. Or you didn’t have a lot of receipts.

    And welcome to the dark side, baby. Let the ANALysis begin!

  2. BeThisWay Says:

    I entered receipts for January, February and March of 2009.

    And then I made green shamrock-shaped Rice Krispies treats.

  3. Good Fountain Says:

    Oh – THIS year. Gotcha.

    I made green shamrock shaped RK treats too!!!

  4. funnyaboutmoney1 Says:

    😀 What a GREAT chair coup! Did they come in that color, or did you paint them?

  5. Erin Says:

    I have those chairs and let me tell you that you scored! I think I got them for $15-19 each at Costco (check out Costco in another month or so…they’ll have them again)…I have 8!

  6. Erin Says:

    Oops! Didn’t see your update to the post…so, I guess you know you scored…the price has gone up, though…$22.50 – wow!


Leave a Reply

